Three Organizations Awarded Rural RUN Grants

Hide Featured Image

August 10, 2022 - The CWDC is pleased to announce that Rural Reskilling, Upskilling, and Next-skilling (RUN) grants have been awarded to the Colorado Restaurant Association and Foundation (CRF), the Early Childhood Council Leadership Alliance (ECCLA), and the Pagosa Springs Community Development Corporation (PSCDC). These grants are part of the larger RUN grant through HB21-1264 (whose funding comes from the Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds (SLFRF)) and support rural organizations that facilitate or are planning to facilitate training for unemployed and underemployed Coloradans to earn industry-recognized credentials. These credentials equip workers with in-demand skills while addressing employers’ skills gaps. 

The funding is already making an impact; the PSCDC has already enrolled 20 youth into its Build Pagosa program, which provides training leading to industry-recognized certifications related to the building trades, including a lifetime OSHA certification. Students also receive credentials that can be stacked for further career advancement.

ECCLA’s Rural RUN Scholarship Program will provide career counseling and tuition support to early childhood professionals in rural communities. The program will specifically support two groups: Individuals already working in early care and education that would like to upskill and earn certificates supporting higher positions, and individuals who would like to reskill to be qualified to work within licensed early care and education programs or in the new Universal Preschool Program as teachers or directors.

Through their grant, CRF will work to enroll individuals throughout rural Colorado in the Restaurant Youth Registered Apprenticeship (RYRA). RYRA provides 17-to-24 year-old participants with industry certifications and advancement opportunities including classroom and on-the-job training resulting in upskilling certifications such as ServSafe Food Manager, Certified Line Cook, or Certified Restaurant Manager. 

Congratulations to these three awardees!