August 25, 2021 - Through a recent expansion of the Child Tax Credit (CTC) and Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) under the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021, more Colorado families are eligible. This has the potential to lift 40% of Colorado children out of poverty and improve health outcomes.
Families can receive up to $300 a month for every child ages 0-5 and $250 a month for every child ages 6-17 living in their household. Families do not need any earnings to qualify. Learn more here (or in Spanish). Although tax day has passed, it’s not too late to connect to these resources! What do families need to do to receive the credit of up to $3,600 per child?
NOTHING if you:
- Filed taxes in 2019 or 2020. The credit will be deposited in you bank account or sent via a check in the mail on the 15th of every month for the rest of the year, starting July 15.
- Gave the IRS your information in 2020 to receive a stimulus payment.
TAKE ACTION if you:
- Did not file taxes in 2019 or 2020. If you did not file a tax return and haven't given the IRS your information to receive a stimulus payment, you need to sign up through the Non-filer Sign-up Tool available at www.childtaxcredit.gov. It's not too late!